Member Services: 877-514-2442

2016 Elections Underway for CGHC Board of Directors

April 14, 2016

Common Ground Healthcare Cooperative (CGHC), a nonprofit, member-governed insurance cooperative serving 19 counties in eastern Wisconsin, has begun the process of electing its 2016 Board of Directors.

“As a cooperative, Common Ground Healthcare does things differently,” said Cathy Mahaffey, CGHC’s chief executive officer. “A unique feature of our cooperative is that our customers – our members – run our company. Only actively insured members can be a voting director on our Board, and only insured members can vote in the Board of Directors’ election.”

Earlier this year, CGHC members were encouraged to nominate themselves, or other qualified members, to serve as Board Directors. A total of seven candidates, three of whom are incumbents, were selected by the CGHC nominating committee to stand for election. The five candidates who receive the most votes in the contested election will become part of the 2016 Board, serving staggered terms of two to three years.

Mahaffey said information about each of the candidates and the ballot were mailed to members this week. “Once again, we were fortunate to attract the interest of an excellent slate of candidates who share our interest in changing the health insurance experience for the better. Now it is up to our members to select the most qualified candidates to help govern our co-op.”

The election remains open until May 18. All CGHC members age 18 and older who are in good standing are eligible to vote.

CGHC provides health insurance to small businesses, nonprofits, individuals and families. As a nonprofit, member-governed cooperative, CGHC is committed to changing the health insurance experience through open dialogue, powerful advocacy and the delivery of trusted and understandable information to members and stakeholders.

CGHC’s headquarters are based in Brookfield, Wisconsin and its products are available in Brown, Calumet, Door, Fond du Lac, Kenosha, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Milwaukee, Oconto, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Racine, Shawano, Sheboygan, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties.